Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far (MOA, Manila Bay)

This week’s photo challenge is guest hosted by Brian Cooney

Let me share the recent ‘date’ I had with my husband. We went to Mall of Asia which is listed at the Forbes’ as one of the 10 largest malls in Asia and second to our own SM North Edsa. It is located at the Bay City, Pasay, Philippines. My photos for this week’s theme ‘Near and Far’ are located in Manila Bay, fronting the mall.

Manila Bay is a natural harbor which serves the Port of Manila (on Luzon), in the Philippines.The bay is considered to be one of the best natural harbors in Southeast Asia and one of the finest in the world. Strategically located around the capital city of the Philippines, Manila Bay facilitated commerce and trade between the Philippines and its neighbouring countries,becoming the gateway for socio-economic development even prior to Spanish occupation. With an area of 1,994 km2 (769.9 sq mi), and a coastline of 190 km (118.1 mi), Manila Bay is situated in the western part of Luzon and is bounded by Cavite and Metro Manila on the east, Bulacan and Pampanga on the north, and Bataan on the west and northwest. (WIKIPEDIA)

The ferris wheel you will find below is our version of the London Eye. They even call it, MOA EYE. This 180 ft tall wheel which is by far tallest in the Philippines just recently opened in December 2011. It will cost you 150php for regular cabin and 250 php VIP cabin (with picture taking).

It’s such a gloomy Friday.  The rain just stopped right before I took pictures which to me is a cool effect. The cold weather was perfect that day because we can stroll around the break waters of the bay not having to worry about the heat. Windy with a cool breeze of the ocean, just so perfect!

Isn’t it a lovely view from the top?



Honestly, I don’t really know that we have this wheel until we went out from the mall. You can just imagine how surprised I am. I don’t really go here that often as it’s too far from my place. Our purpose really was to catch the opening of ‘Cotton On’. There’s a lot of shoppers plus the store isn’t that big so we have to wait our turn to go inside. I had 2 500 vouchers, each you can use for a 1k purchase. I had two transactions, instead of paying 2200, I only paid 1200. Sweet.

Thank you for coming over to Manila. I love everything about Cotton On.

Taken inside the mall’s open space. Lovely, right?

I hope I can visit the place again soooon!!! Here’s the front view of the mall before I end the post.

Cheers!

More entries at:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/09/07/weekly-photo-challenge-near-and-far/

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far (MOA, Manila Bay)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Near and Far (Lesbos) « What's (in) the picture?

  2. Is Mall of Asia smaller than SM North EDSA? I always thought that MOA (I’ve never been there, just read about it and heard about it from my relatives) was bigger. Although on my last visit to the Phils., I saw how big SM NORTH had become.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Near And Far Part 2 | imexcited

Leave a Reply

